Performance Space, Performance Space New York (NY), Portland Institute for Contemporary Art (PDX), the Momentary (AR), Ballroom Marfa (TX) and Blakdance (Australia) present

Knowledge of Wounds: S/kin Keynote with Kim TallBear and Daniel Browning

K.O.W
Knowledge of Wounds: S/kin SJ Norman and Joseph M. Pierce

Artists

S.J Norman
Joseph M Pierce
Kim Tallbear

Dates & Session Times


Thursday 21 Oct - 10:00am

Venue


Access



Curators
SJ Norman, Joseph M. Pierce 

Producer
Carlee Smith

Designer and Digital Producer
Chloe Alexandra Thompson

Knowledge of Wounds: S/kin Keynote 

21 October 10 AM AEDT
20 October 8 PM EST / 7 PM CST / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PST

Join us for a conversation between Kim TallBear & Daniel Browning.

 

Buy Tickets for On Demand Viewing

 

In this keynote conversation, Dr. TallBear will speak with Bundjalung journalist Daniel Browning on her work on critical non-monogamy. TallBear situates her critique of the assumed, settler-imposed norms of dyadic coupledom and marriage within the Indigenous ethics of Right Relationship. In her work, TallBear traces a compelling line between the strategic imposition of colonial familial structures and sexual mores and the seizure and partitioning of land. In critical dialogue with the work of white ecofeminists such as Annie Sprinkle, TallBear proposes an expanded understanding of erotic relationship and intimate commitment that includes both human and more-than-human relations. TallBear both references and refutes the existing formulations of Polyamory, troubling the overwhelming whiteness and neoliberal underpinnings of these movements, and instead makes an argument for the practice of non-monogamy and non-hierarchical intimacy as restorations of our relational sovereignty.

For the second celestial season of Knowledge of Wounds, we consider S/kin as the means through which we connect and ground into our kinstillatory relationships 

All Knowledge of Wounds events will be live streamed through Vimeo and embedded on the Knowledge of Wounds website. These events will be available on demand after the event has aired.

Price: We are firm in the conviction that Indigenous people should not have to exchange currency for access to our own knowledge and cultural spaces. Rather than a set ticket price, Indigenous participants are invited to make an offering, in the spirit of reciprocity and mutual distribution of resources. Access to all events will be on a donation basis, with the donation amount to be decided upon according to individual capacity. If you have less, pay what you can. If you are financially resourced, and wish to support our work, we welcome a more size-able donation.

Access:This event will be streamed with live captioning and Auslan.

EXPLORE OTHER EVENTS

Performance Space (website dev copy)
Performance Space Ny
PICA Portland Institute For Contemporary Art
The Momentary Crystal Bridges Museum
Ballroom Marfa
Blakdance

contact us

performancespace logo

LIVEWORKS BOX OFFICE 

EMAIL: admin@performancespace.com.au
PHONE: 0466 362 253
HOURS: SEPT 10am-5pm Tuesday | 10am-5pm Thursday
OCT 10am-5pm Tuesday | 10am-5pm Wednesday | 10am-5pm Thursday

 

 

PERFORMANCE SPACE

Carriageworks
Level 2, 245 Wilson Street, Eveleigh

+61 2 8571 9111
admin@performancespace.com.au

connect

Subscribe to our mailing list and stay up to date with all things PSpace!

subscribe