Performance Space and Carriageworks present

Other Tempo (installation) - Lauren Brincat

Website Header Lauren Brincat
Lauren Brincat, 'Other Tempo'. Image: Romello Pereira.

Artists

Lauren Brincat

Dates & Session Times


Thursday 17 Oct - 6:00pm
Friday 18 Oct - 10:00am
Saturday 19 Oct - 10:00am
Sunday 20 Oct - 10:00am
Monday 21 Oct - 10:00am
Tuesday 22 Oct - 10:00am
Wednesday 23 Oct - 10:00am
Thursday 24 Oct - 10:00am
Friday 25 Oct - 10:00am
Saturday 26 Oct - 10:00am
Sunday 27 Oct - 10:00am

Venue

Public Space at Carriageworks, 
245 Wilson Street, Eveleigh


Access

Saturday 26 Oct
Tactile Tour, 10:00am (installation)
Audio Description, 11:00am (performance)

To book your place please email access@performancespace.com.au



Artist
Lauren Brincat

Design and Fabrication
Simon Cavanough
Leah Giblin
Samual Szwarcbord

Curators
Beatrice Gralton, Carriageworks (Head Curator - Visual Art)
Jeff Khan, Performance Space (Artistic Director)

World Premiere

Other Tempo is a dynamic performance installation of modified drum kits and visual scores within the industrial expanse of Carriageworks. Under Brincat’s direction, the work is activated by a group of women drummers who each have a unique approach to the sonic, physical and sculptural properties of their instruments. Other Tempo collectively challenges the way we hear, see and think about sound, sculpture and performance.

The installation component of Other Tempo is open 10am-6pm daily for the duration of the festival, as well as extended late-night hours Wednesday through Sunday. The performance times for Other Tempo can be found here.

This is a free event, no bookings required.

 

Dive deeper...

Join Lauren Brincat and fellow Liveworks artists Gail Priest and Alex Murray-Leslie (Chicks on Speed) in conversation with Clare Cooper as they discuss their research interests, artistic practices, and what it means to create collaborative work that spans sound, installation and performance.

EXPLORE OTHER EVENTS


Other Tempo was commissioned by Carriageworks and Performance Space, with support from the Australia Council for the Arts.


Related Programs