Experimental Micro-Fellowships

1209Scafphotocreditzanwimberley 0332 Small
37.Angela Goh Fusebox


Performance Space’s Experimental Micro-Fellowships are a new initiative in response to the unprecedented worldwide disruption caused by the Covid-19 pandemic to the experimental and interdisciplinary arts sector. During this strange and difficult time, we are committed to keeping experimental work thriving, supporting artists to embark on new creative developments and undertake new research that will strengthen the future of their practice.

The Experimental Micro-Fellowships are a series of small $5000 grants awarded to 8 Australian and Asia Pacific artists to undertake research, new experiments, or creative developments in the current environment of remote work and social distancing.

Aiming to foster a culture of curiosity, experimentation and creative response, the Experimental Micro-Fellowships could support you to work on the transformation of an existing project, the creative development of a new work, a new piece of research, or an experiment to try something new. This might be an opportunity to find a new way of working on a project you’re excited about, a chance to change direction and experiment with new ideas, or to bunker down and focus on that piece of research you haven’t had time for yet. These fellowships are focused on artists with interdisciplinary or experimental practices: we are seeking to support artists who are expanding the edges of art forms and exploring new ways for art to meet its audience.

Past Artists: 

Samia Sayed
Natasha Tontey
Giselle Stanborough
SJ Norman 
Val Lee
Janet Carter
Del Lumanta
Luke John Campbell

Information surrounding the next fellowships round will be updated here. To stay up to date with all our Artist Development opportunities subscribe to our e-news and our social channels. Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

Performance Space (website dev copy)
City of Sydney
Create NSW
Australia Council for the Arts
Australian Government Visual Arts And Craft Strategy

contact us

performancespace logo


EMAIL: admin@performancespace.com.au
PHONE: 0434 414 051
HOURS: SEPT 10am-5pm Tuesday | 10am-5pm Thursday
OCT 10am-5pm Tuesday | 10am-5pm Wednesday | 10am-5pm Thursday


Level 2, 245 Wilson Street, Eveleigh

+61 2 8571 9111



Subscribe to our mailing list and stay up to date with all things PSpace!